As a Knowi Admin user, you can manage how your users interact with their dashboard and widgets within Categories. This includes the following operations that can be configured from the Roles page in User Settings:
Visibility to categories structure and its contents
Editing a category
Deleting a category
Creating a category
Each user's permission can be configured to allow or restrict workspace organization. A user who can view a category can navigate to the category and view the assets within the category. A user who can manage a category can change or organize the contents of a category (copying, moving, deleting, and renaming), and give other users and groups access to the Folder.
Similar to a dashboard, widget, query, or datasource, a category can be shared to a user or group using one of the following permissions as summarized in the table below:
|View||A user having a View access level to a Folder can view that Folder and the list of assets stored within it.|
|Edit||A user having the Edit access level for a Folder can organize that Folder, including adding assets, copying, and moving assets, renaming and moving Folders, and deleting Folders.|
|Deny||A user having Deny access is restricted from viewing and accessing a Folder and its content. This is useful if sharing a folder tree and access needs to be restricted to a nested folder.|
Note: Sharing a category to a user or group does not affect the permission of the asset within the category. For example, if you have a category "Sales" with multiple widgets, you can share the widgets to a user with Edit permission and share the category with View permission. This allows the user to make changes to the widget but not change the structure of the category (i.e. rename, add an extra widget to the category, or create a sub-category).
Sharing Assets in a Category
When a category is shared with a user or group, the assets within that category (i.e. sub-categories, dashboards, widgets) are automatically shared with that user or group. This is especially useful for cross-collaboration, eliminating the need to share each asset individually.
Category Permission Inheritance
By default, all assets within a category inherit the permission access of the category. For example, if you have a category "Sales" containing multiple sub-categories, dashboards, or widgets, and share this category with View permission, all subcategories and assets within the "Sales" category will automatically inherit the View permission.
Note: The above will be the case unless explicitly stated otherwise. For example, if a dashboard within the "Sales" category was explicitly shared with Edit permission to a user or group, they will have Edit access to that specific dashboard, but only have View access to all other assets within the category.
Setting Permission Levels for "Nodes" Within a Category
Sub-categories within a category tree can be shared with different permission levels from the parent category.
For example, a category "Sales" is shared with a user or group with View permission, but a sub-category within it, called "Regional Sales" was shared with Edit permission. The user or group will be able to see the entire category tree and have "view-only" access to any other subcategories and assets within the category. However, they will have Edit permission to the "Regional Sales" subcategory and will be able to add new folders to it or modify the assets within it.